Onur Güntürkün (EN)
Portrait of Onur Güntürkün

Leibniz Prize winners

In 2013, Professor Onur Güntürkün, bio-psychologist from Bochum, was awarded the Leibniz Prize.

Biopsychologist Onur Güntürkün received the Leibniz Prize in 2013 for his outstanding scientific work in the field of perception, learning, and decision-making. Güntürkün investigates these phenomena at a behavioural level, neuroanatomically, and with electrophysiological and imaging techniques. In doing so, he is above all interested in the asymmetry between the left and right hemisphere of the brain, about which hardly anything is known in people.

Other Leibniz Prize winners

  • 1995: Prof. Dr. Elmar W. Weiler, plant physiology
  • 1995: Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Freund, physical chemistry
  • 1994: Prof. Dr. Ulf Eysel, neuropsychology
  • 1993: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Jost, mathematics
  • 1992: Prof. Dr. Ján Veizer, sediment geochemistry

Good to know

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize has been awarded annually since 1986 by the German Research Foundation. The Leibniz Prize is the most important research funding award in Germany. The prize is only awarded upon nomination by third parties and is intended to improve working conditions for outstanding scientists and expand their research possibilities.

Excellent research
To top