Exzellenzinitiative Cluster RESOLV Lösungsmittel Becherglas (EN)
A red powder dissolves in a yellow liquid.

Ruhr Explores Solvation

In the Cluster of Excellence RESOLV, scientists work in the field of solvation science.

Most chemical reactions, important industrial processes, and almost all biological processes take place in the liquid phase. The team from the Cluster of Excellence Ruhr Explores Solvation, RESOLV for short, wants to understand how the solvent is involved in the control, mediation, and regulation of chemical reactions. More than 200 chemists, physicists and engineers are working together to decipher the role of solvent molecules. Based on their findings, they are developing new concepts for industry – for instance for energy conversion and storage, or the development of smart sensors.

The German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft – DFG) supported the Cluster of Excellence at RUB from 2012 to 2018. RESOLV has since developed a dense network in solvation research. Since 2019, RESOLV – now hosted at both RUB and TU Dortmund University – receives funding for seven more years. The universities in Bochum and Dortmund work together with several partners from the Ruhr region: the University of Duisburg-Essen, the Max Planck Institutes for Iron Research (Düsseldorf) and Coal Research (Mülheim an der Ruhr), and the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology UMSICHT in Oberhausen. What’s more, RESOLV benefits from an international research network. Speaker of RESOLV is Professor Martina Haventih-Newen.

The Cluster of Excellence has established its own graduate school and promotes measures for equality and diversity, internationalisation, knowledge transfer and support for early career researchers.

RESOLV

Background Excellence Strategy

The aim of the Excellence Strategy is to strengthen Germany’s position as an outstanding place for research in the long term and further improve its international competitiveness.

The Excellence Strategy compromises two funding lines:

  • Clusters of Excellence for project-based funding in internationally competitive fields of research at universities or university consortia
  • Universities of Excellence to strengthen universities as individual institutions or as university consortia in the long term and further develop their leading international role on the basis of successful Clusters of Excellence

RUB was successful in the first funding line with two applications: the Cluster of Excellence Ruhr Explores Solvation (RESOLV) and the Cluster of Excellence Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries (CaSa).

Excellence Strategy
To top

Exzellenzinitiative Cluster RESOLV Lösungsmittel Becherglas
Ein rotes Pulver löst sich in einer gelben Flüssigkeit.

Ruhr Explores Solvation

Im Exzellenzcluster RESOLV steht die Lösungsmittelforschung im Mittelpunkt.

Die meisten chemischen Reaktionen, wichtige industrielle Prozesse und nahezu alle biologischen Vorgänge finden in flüssiger Phase statt. Das Team vom Exzellenzcluster Ruhr Explores Solvation, kurz RESOLV, will verstehen, wie das Lösungsmittel chemische Reaktionen mit kontrolliert, vermittelt und steuert. Mehr als 200 Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der Chemie, Physik und den Ingenieurswissenschaften kooperieren, um die Rolle der Lösungsmittelmoleküle zu entschlüsseln. Basierend auf den Erkenntnissen wollen sie neue Konzepte für die Industrie entwickeln, zum Beispiel für die Energieumwandlung und -speicherung oder für die Entwicklung von smarten Sensoren.

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft förderte das Exzellenzcluster RESOLV bereits von 2012 bis 2018 an der RUB. Es hat sich seitdem von dem Bochumer Cluster ausgehend ein dichtes Netzwerk in der Solvatationsforschung mit RESOLV als Knotenpunkt entwickelt. Seit 2019 wird RESOLV an der RUB und der Technischen Universität Dortmund weiter gefördert, beide Universitäten fungieren als Sprecherhochschulen. Sie kooperieren sowohl mit Partnern aus der Region – der Universität Duisburg-Essen, den Max-Planck-Instituten für Eisenforschung (Düsseldorf) und Kohlenforschung (Mülheim an der Ruhr) sowie mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut UMSICHT in Oberhausen – als auch mit einem internationalen Netzwerk von hochrangigen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern. Sprecherin und Koordinatorin des Clusters ist Prof. Dr. Martina Havenith-Newen.

Das Exzellenzcluster beinhaltet eine eigene Graduiertenschule und fördert Maßnahmen für Gleichstellung und Vielfalt, Internationalisierung, Wissenstransfer sowie zur Unterstützung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses.

RESOLV

Hintergrund Exzellenzstrategie

Mit der Exzellenzstrategie sollen der Wissenschaftsstandort Deutschland nachhaltig gestärkt, seine internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit verbessert und die Spitzen im Universitäts- und Wissenschaftsbereich sichtbar gemacht werden.

Die Exzellenzstrategie umfasst zwei Förderlinien:

  • Exzellenzcluster zur projektförmigen Förderung international wettbewerbsfähiger Forschungsfelder in Universitäten oder Universitätsverbünden und
  • Exzellenzuniversitäten zur dauerhaften Stärkung der Universitäten als Einzelinstitutionen oder als Verbünde und zum Ausbau ihrer internationalen Spitzenstellung in der Forschung auf Basis erfolgreicher Exzellenzcluster.

Die RUB war in der ersten Förderlinie mit zwei Anträgen erfolgreich: Die Cluster Ruhr Explores Solvation (RESOLV) und Cyber-Sicherheit im Zeitalter großskaliger Angreifer (CaSa) werden in der Exzellenzstrategie gefördert. Die Entscheidung in der zweiten Förderlinie fällt am 19. Juli 2019; auch hier ist die RUB im Rennen.

Exzellenzstrategie
Nach oben