Research Department Subsurface Engineering Tunnelmodell (EN)
Tunnel model

Subsurface Modeling and Engineering

The team at this Research Department analyses, among other things, the potential of geothermal energy, congestion-free transport of goods, and subterranean storage of greenhouse gases.

Undreamt-of possibilities lie deep under our cellars: geothermal energy, congestion-free routes for the transport of goods, and storage capacities for climate gases and harmful substances are just a few examples. The Research Department Subsurface Modeling and Engineering aims to intelligently use this potential.

The researchers thus want to use numeric models, lab experiments and deep drilling to develop concepts for the more environmentally-friendly use of geothermal energy. To minimise traffic chaos and environmental problems in conurbations, they are researching reliable forecasting models to make tunnel construction safer, more efficient and more economical. Simulation models should also help to store CO2 and other harmful substances underground in an environmentally friendly way over long periods and to render them harmless to the atmosphere.

The Research Department is an interdisciplinary research platform for specialists from the fields of computer simulation, civil engineering, geosciences, mechanical engineering, IT, mathematics, economics, and archaeology.

RD Subsurface Modeling

Research Departments
To top

Research Department Subsurface Engineering Tunnelmodell
Tunnelmodell

Subsurface Modeling and Engineering

Das Team des Research Departments erforscht unter anderem die Potenziale der Erdwärmenutzung, staufreie Warentransporte und die unterirdische Speicherung von Klimagasen.

Tief unter unseren Kellern schlummern ungeahnte Möglichkeiten: Die Energie der Erdwärme, staufreie Wege für den Warentransport und Speicherkapazitäten für Klimagase und Schadstoffe sind nur einige Beispiele. Dieses Potenzial intelligent zu nutzen ist Ziel des Research Departments „Subsurface Modeling and Engineering“.

So wollen die Forscherinnen und Forscher mit numerischen Modellen, Laborversuchen und Tiefbohrungen Konzepte für eine umweltschonendere Nutzung der Erdwärme entwickeln. Um Verkehrschaos und Umweltprobleme in Ballungsräumen zu mildern, forschen sie an zuverlässigen Prognosemodellen, die den Tunnelbau sicherer, effizienter und wirtschaftlicher machen. Simulationsmodelle sollen auch helfen, CO2 und andere Schadstoffe umweltschonend über lange Zeiträume im Untergrund zu speichern und für die Atmosphäre unschädlich zu machen.

Das Research Department ist eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsplattform für Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Computersimulation, Bauingenieurwesen, Geowissenschaften, Maschinenbau, Informatik, Mathematik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Archäologie.

RD Subsurface Modeling

Research Departments
Nach oben